Commissioners are appointed by the Governor-General on the recommendation of the Minister of Justice for terms of up to five years. Under the Human Rights Act, Commissioners are appointed with regard not only to their personal attributes but also to their knowledge and/or experience of matters likely to come before the Commission.

Chief Commissioner David Rutherford
Race Relations Commissioner Dame Susan Devoy
EEO Commissioner Dr Jackie Blue
Disability Rights Commissioner Paul Gibson
Commissioner Karen Johansen
Commissioner Richard Tankersley

Back to top